Jukai Study & Ceremony

Jukai means “to receive the precepts” – it is an initiation into the Zen Buddhist Community. In Jukai, you receive the rakusu, which represents the robe of the Buddha, oryoki bowls, the kechyimyaku, connecting you to the lineage of people who practiced in the past, and a dharma name, representing qualities of your practice.

Jukai is the also called “taking refuge.” In Jukai, you take refuge in the sixteen precepts, composed of the three refuges, the three pure precepts, and the ten grave precepts.

Three Refuges

  1. Oneness, the awakened nature of all beings. This is the refuge of the Buddha.
  2. Diversity, the ocean of wisdom and compassion. This is the refuge of the Dharma.
  3. Harmony, the interdependence of all creations. This is the refuge of the Sangha.

Three Pure Precepts/Tenets

  1. Not-knowing, thereby giving up fixed ideas about myself and the universe. This is ceasing from evil.
  2. Bearing witness to the joy and suffering of the world. This is doing good.
  3. Healing myself and others. This is doing good for others.

Ten Grave Precepts:

  1. Recognizing that I am not separate from all that is. This is the precept of Non-Killing.
  2. Being satisfied with what I have. This is the precept of Non-Stealing.
  3. Encountering all creations with respect and dignity. This is the precept of Chaste Conduct.
  4. Listening and speaking from the heart. This is the precept of Non-Lying.
  5. Cultivating a mind that sees clearly. This is the precept of Not Being Ignorant.
  6. Unconditionally accepting what each moment has to offer. This is the precept of Not Talking About Others Errors And Faults.
  7. Speaking what I perceive to be the truth without guilt or blame. This is the precept of Not Elevating Oneself And Blaming Others.
  8. Using all of the ingredients of my life. This is the precept of Not Being Stingy.
  9. Transforming suffering into wisdom. This is the precept of Not Being Angry.
  10. Honoring my life as an instrument of peacemaking. This is the precept of Not Thinking Ill of the Three Treasures.

What are the procedures for taking refuge?

  1. Practice regularly with the Sangha.
  2. Speak privately with Roshi Enkyo regarding your motivation and understanding of Jukai.
  3. Register with Shinryu or Anraku and join the sewing group

Verse of the Kesa
Vast is the robe of liberation
A formless field of benefaction
I wear the tathagata-teaching
Saving all sentient beings

to transmit;
Kai: precepts,
To transmit awareness of your own nature.
Maezumi Roshi said,“the kai is to really be aware of your own nature.”

Connect with Us

Join Village Zendo's newsletter to receive updates on events, workshops and retreats, and our monthly bulletin.

Thank you for subscribing!